The Looking Glass Wars – A Spoiler Free Review

Image

Young Princess Alyss Heart of Wonderland – Concept artwork for the Looking Glass Wars

Book: The Looking Glass Wars

Author: Frank Beddor

Age Group: Older Child/Young Adult

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, and Romance

Rating: 3.5/5

The Looking Glass Wars first caught my eye upon the bookshelves of Powells while I was picking up some used books for my reading pleasure (the Calling and Clockwork Princess from my earlier reviews being two of those others from that trip). I’ve always been intrigued by different versions and re-tellings of the Alice in Wonderland story as I plan to one day do one of my own. I remembered that some of my friends had read this particular novel growing up and been intrigued by the ideas it presented. I picked up the book and began to flip through the pages, quickly surprised and pleased that the novel is filled with concept artwork and sketches of the characters and the environment in which they lived. I was thrilled.
Upon taking the book home and beginning to read it, I quickly realized that I was probably too old (at 22) to be as enthralled with this book as its intended audience. Non-the-less I read it all the way through and thus am reviewing it today.

Overall the character designs, pacing, and world building is extremely well done. Where this falls short is story arc, believability, and the forced (at times) romance. Even though it was Wonderland, there were times when even I caught myself making a small half-smirk at the book and thinking Did that really just happen? Had I been my younger self I would’ve laughed at the thought of it, gleeful in its existence. One thing I will give Beddor though, other than all the amazing things I have already mentioned, was that his research was quite in-depth. At the end of the book is a timeline of events in Wonderland side-by-side with events in London, England. He had a historical starting point for this novel and he stuck closely to it. Other areas where I found it a bit short were language, but this makes sense for its intended audience.

I myself will probably not be picking up the sequels, but I can easily see Disney asking for the rights to this novel to make, yet another Alice movie spin-off.

As always my opinions are my own and no one else. Please check out other related content below.

Thank you for your time,

~ Yoku

Leave a Reply

