City of Glass – A Spoiler Free Review

Image

Banner of Clarrissa Fray (Fairchild, Morgenstein, etc.) by Chibilina on dA

Book: City of Glass

Author: Cassandra Clare

Age Group: Teen

Genre: Action, Adventure, Romance, Supernatural

Rating: 5/5

WARNING: If you intend to read this book make sure you have all your “feels” ready because it’s a roller coaster!

This was by far Clare’s best installment in the Mortal Instruments series so far. Her writing is incredible, the attachment to the characters and their lives is powerful, and the scenes and plot twists are heart-stopping. I had a problem putting this book down, my fingers itching to pick it back up again and read more. Her writing was extremely witty in this installment and I believe that Clare really speaks for her characters. Their lives are intricately connected with  conversation between the characters like this:

Simon: ‘Good. If you want to know why, it’s because you smell like blood.’

Jace: ‘It’s my cologne. Eau de Recent Injury.'”

My biggest complaint, if you could call it that, was that I felt like Clare completely finished the series with the ending of this book. It felt resolved and I could imagine exactly what was coming next. This makes me intrigued, while at the same time skeptical of City of Fallen Angels. I’m finding myself worrying that Clare is going to write every last detail out of us so that our imaginations are left with nothing, or it could be the exact opposite and there could be an amazing plot twist coming. Only time and more reading will reveal this to me.

Regarding some of my previous review complaints, mostly pertaining to Clary’s and Jace’s relationship, don’t worry it is all revealed in this book! Although it took a while to get here, it is well worth it and your understanding will become clear.

Some more great quotes to come from this book:

“It’s like an injury you get from a demon poison—-you have to leave it alone and let it heal. Every time you rip the bandages off, you just open the wound up again. Every time he sees you, it’s like tearing off the bandages.”

– Isabelle to Clary (City of Glass, The Mortal Instruments Book Three)

“Perfection. Want to know what is perfect? This is… “I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there’s a life after that, I’ll love you then.”

– Clary (City of Glass)

Check out more quotes and amazing things like this by just typing “City of Glass” into Tumblr search. Now I’m off to go draw some Isabelle fan art because I haven’t been able to get her image out of my mind for the last three days.

Sorry for the relatively short review this time, but honestly I feel like the book and the quotes chosen will tell you yourself, especially if you’ve made it this far in the series, whether you want to read it or not. My singular review will not twist your arm one way nor another.

As always, I only have one set of opinions. Check out other reviews if you’re thinking about purchasing the book yourself.

Thanks for taking the time to read this,

~ Yoku

One thought on “City of Glass – A Spoiler Free Review

  1. Pingback: City of Fallen Angels – A Spoiler Free Review | Yoku's Thought Bubbles

Leave a Reply

