Basil Pesto Chicken Pasta

Image

Rating: 4/5 — A little too unhealthy for a main course in my opinion, but pretty quick and easy overall.

I started my first day of work yesterday, where in the later afternoon/early evening I cook and do misc. chores for a family, and last night I made Basil Pesto Chicken Pasta with a side of Asparagus. The mother gave me a generalized recipe, add this, then this, then this, sort of thing so I kind of made it up as I went. Below I’m going to try and type it all out for you guys to try.

Ingredients: Onions, Mushrooms, Artichoke Hearts, Cooked Chicken, Cream or Half/half, Basil Pesto, salt, pepper, and dried pasta.

Supplies: Knife, cutting board, wooden spoon (or other utensil to stir with), 1 medium pot for pasta, and 1 deep saute pan where you can make the sauce in.

First: Cook your pasta. I always have a problem finishing everything else before the water has boiled. Add a bit of salt into the water as you boil it. Why you ask, according to Ask.com: “Adding salt to water adds flavor to the water, which is absorbed by the food. Another reason salt is added to water is because it increases the boiling point of the water, meaning your water will have a higher temperature when you add the pasta, so it will cook better.” So viola!

Second: Begin chopping up all your onions, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and cooked chicken. I ended up using one large onion, one regular pack of mushrooms, about a dozen artichoke hearts, and about half a chicken.

Image

Third: Once everything is chopped saute starting with your onions. Once they begin to become flexible, add the mushrooms. Toss in some salt and pepper at this point to taste. Once the mushrooms have cooked a bit, add the artichoke hearts.

Image

Fourth: Next we’ll add some cream or half/half. Now, how much of this is all by personal preference as this is what is used to make the sauce. At first I used about 1/3 cup of cream and then 3 tablespoon scoops of Basil Pesto. This makes for a semi-light sauce still, but enough to make it creamy and give it some great flavor! Add your chicken in, stir a bit, and you’re done. : D

Now I complimented this dish with some lightly cooked Asparagus in some Garlic, Salt, and Pepper water. Easy and fresh since they’re in season right now.

The mother that I cook for, once she arrived home, decided my sauce was not saucy enough to her taste and ended up adding in about 1/2 a cup of cream and then 1/3 a cup of basil pesto, hence why I said that is all up to your taste buds.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and happy cooking!

~ Yoku

Leave a Reply

