City of Lost Souls – A Spoiler Free Review

tumblr_mo8hahmAzc1rlshbso1_500

Sebastion made by I’m a Mad on tumblr.

Book: City of Lost Souls

Author: Cassandra Clare

Age Group: Teen

Genre: Action, Adventure, Romance, Supernatural

Rating: 4/5

As we enter the second book of the second arc of the Mortal Instruments series I’ve bumped the rating up by .5 points. I’m still not entirely convinced that this second arc is needed for the series, but I’m beginning to treat it as a side series in my mind and that seems to be working. Clare successfully made me feel uncomfortable at various points in this novel, which is the mood I should have felt, as well as becoming closer to the characters. I’m not 100 % sure I agree with all the decisions that Clare decided to put Clary in, it felt almost “Mary Sue” at some points, continuing the feel of this book as being more of an author “fan fic”. But, characters like Magnus, Camille, Isabelle, and Brother Zachariah are right in line on exactly what they’re doing and how they’re going about it. I also enjoyed how Clare portrayed Sebastian. At one point while reading I posted on tumblr: “Is it sad that I’m beginning to understand Sebastian and feel for him?” I also, once again, found myself relating extremely well with Simon, especially with such lines as this:

Simon: “Oh no. I am a hipster. I am too cool for themed weddings.”

Clary: “You play D and D. You’re a geek.”

Simon: “Geek is chic. Ladies love nerds.”

Clare is continuing the quotability of this series, here are a couple others I feel in love with:

Simon: “You know me. We have delicate egos.”

Clary: “I wouldn’t describe Jace’s ego as delicate.”

Simon: “No, Jace’s is sort of the antiaircraft artillery tank of male egos.”

“There are memories that time does not erase, Clarissa. Ask your friend Magnus Bane, if you do not believe me. Forever does not make loss forgettable, only bearable.”
– Brother Zachariah
Short review this time. Much of the same things to say as last time. I’m quite stoked for the movie on August 22nd, the final conclusion to this arc, next Spring, and for her next series to come out, the Dark Artifices. I’m also planning to pick up Bane Chronicles, audio books, at some point.
I thus leave you with a final quote and two other amazing images that didn’t quite make the cut for my main header image.
“My heart is your heart, my hands are your hands.”

– Jace

tumblr_mo55u3bt951qlvsbto1_500 tumblr_mo5mifsujC1rijqvjo1_500
Image on the left by weliveandbreathewords and right by nerdalter.

As always, I only have one set of opinions. Check out other reviews if you’re thinking about purchasing the book yourself.

Thanks for taking the time to read this,

~ Yoku

Leave a Reply

