Soulless – A Spoiler Free Review

alexia_tarabotti_and_conall_maccon_by_ulalah-d5jh1kz

Alexia Tarabotti and Connal Maccon by Ulalah on dA.

Book: Soulless

Author: Gail Carriger

Age Group: Adult

Genre: Action, Adventure, Romance, Supernatural

Rating: 5/5

Shall I begin to talk about this book? Well let me say I love, love, LOVED it! It was fantastic and what an amazing read after the Rising. If I had to tag line it (which I did in fact for my local libraries summer reviews) I would say: “A fun and delightful read of a woman with astounding manners and a great sense of the sensible.” A bit silly, believe me I know, but I feel like it describes it quite well. Only topped by two other taglines, number one being this: “Soulless is a character-driven romp with great worldbuilding and delicious rapier wit that recalls Austen and P.G. Wodehouse.” Number two being the tagline on the front of the book: “A novel of vampires, werewolves, and parasols” which is the one that got me at the book store. I’ve asked myself a dozen times which it has taken me so long to find this delightful novel seeing my love of steampunk, supernatural, romance, and woman with wit! Well, none-the-less, the series now lies upon my bed side table where I am eating them up like tea cakes!

The first installment of this series is Soulless which follows the main female lead, Alexia Tarabotti, on her adventures in high London society as a spinster. She has some interesting acquaintances including two werewolves and a rove vampire friend. Alexia always has her handy dandy parasol at the ready for any unfortunate accidents, which as a supernatural herself, seem to be drawn to her on a regular basis. The language of the novel is playful and full of wit and english language, that which derives from England. It often reminded me of that Southern Woman lines meme that have been running rapid recently.

This story has a fun plot that is constantly being pushed forward full of mystery, suspense, adventure, and romance. The romance is a large part of this novel, as much as any other part, and would not be what it was without it. The romance aspect, is also which pushes this novel from upper young adult to that of adult, so be a bit weary of that.

The characters are multi-dimensional and no two are the same. Carriger also takes a great interest in describing era based clothing, class system, vehicles, and cutting edge science of the time. Carriger carries on a great storyline, alternative history that makes sense and is backed by a large amount of research, as well as believable characters. Honestly, I would love to live in this world that Carriger has created. All in all a great book that I highly recommend!

As always all opinions and views noted above are my own. If you’re thinking about buying the book then check out other reviews.

Thank you for taking the time to read this,

~ Yoku

Ps. Enjoy some other images that didn’t make the cut this time around.

 

alexia_tarabotti__beauty_by_bearmoon-d4s5gvu alexia-reffull b3a6e1883f0c1048d00cab8a4343f904-d39z955 tumblr_lgtkzjluZ21qbsjc9o1_500 url

 

Pss. Also, I’m aware there is a manga of this series and I have it on hold at the library already. I can’t wait to check it out! (Literally of course.)

Leave a Reply

